Meet Andy

Age 10, Florida, U.S.A.

1_tocaboca_profile_ANDY_square

Andy’s good at basketball, math, Minecraft and origami. His friends and family say he’s kind, funny, polite, helpful, energetic and inventive. “I like to have fun! I like to build. I like to play video games, play basketball, eat lunch, read, go to the beach, and go to physical education class at school.”

What's for Lunch?

Andy's mom made his lunch, and he ate it at home. His lunch included a drink in his favorite SpongeBob cup!

1_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_LUNCH

What’s for lunch today? Is it an everyday lunch?

Peanut butter sandwich (No jelly. I don’t like jelly.), grapes, banana bread and chocolate milk. I eat peanut butter almost every day for breakfast or lunch. I usually don’t get banana bread with lunch.

2_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_LUNCH

If you could change anything about this lunch, what would you change?

How small the piece of banana bread was.

3_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_LUNCH

What was the best thing about this lunch?

The banana bread. It’s kind of like a treat because I don’t have it a lot.

I Get Around

Andy took his photos on the way to the beach. His feet were sandy when he got back into the car.

Is this your usual mode of transportation? If not, how do you usually get around?

Yes. It’s my mom’s car.

Did you see anything interesting or unusual as you were getting around on this day?

I was taking photos from my car! The clouds over the Gulf of Mexico.

Is there anything else you want to tell us about getting around on this day?

My feet were sandy when I got back into the car.

My Style

Andy chose his own outfit on this day, as he usually does. "I would describe my style as kicked back."

1_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_STYLE_mainWhy did you choose to wear this outfit today?

Because we’re going to the beach.

Would you say this is pretty much how you dress every day? Is there anything unusual about this outfit?

If I’m staying home this is pretty much how I dress, but not if I’m going to school. I have swim trunks on.

2_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_STYLE

What was your favorite part of this outfit? Why?

The guitars on my swim trunks. I like guitars.

My Happy Place

Andy's special place is his tree, where goes about twice a week.

1_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_SPACE

How would you describe your special place?

Fun, a lot of animal life. I can swing, hang out there, play.

2_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_SPACE

Why is this place special to you?

I’ve had it there for years, ever since I moved here when I was 5.

3_TocaBoca_KidsEye_ANDY_SPACE

How do you feel when you are there?

I feel good. I feel like I’m Tarzan when I’m climbing or swinging, that’s what I feel like.

Do you want to tell us anything else about your special place?

We built our own rope swings just for this tree.

SEE MORE KID PERSPECTIVES

What does lunch look like for kids around the world?